Les vacances de la Toussaint– more like les vacances de Two Cent, amitite?

Ok, now that you’ve either groaned or stared blankly at that awful pun, I’ll tell you what’s new!

I’ve finished my first week as a teaching assistant and it definitely wasn’t too bad as far as first weeks go.   I had to start at the beginning of the beginning for the 6-year-olds and definitely had to deal with some annoying smart-mouth chatterbox antics of the 9-and-10-year-olds, but as the classes were mostly just introductions, it wasn’t so bad.

And after a full 12-hour work week, I’ve got two weeks off for les vacances de la Toussaintand, honestly, I’m not sure what I’m going to be doing with most of my time.

This past weekend, I went out with a few fellow assistants, which was very fun, but definitely can’t be an everyday thing.  I also got another temporary teenage roommate who’ll be here until December doing a stage (when she’s not giving me or her parents passive-aggressive, moody, adolescent attitude) I’ll be cleaning and running errands.  Sometimes I’ll cook.  I’ll try to encourage myself to consider motivating myself to make actual-factual lesson plans.

It’s gonna be a long couple of weeks, especially with limited funds as I’m still waiting on my first paycheck!

I will, however, go ahead and splurge a bit for Halloween-ing; in France, they mostly focus more on the somber Toussaint part of All Hallows– (BTW laïcité is more or less a bullshit, islamophobic, nationalist, concept, especially since there’s so much time off for major Christian holidays– but that’s a rant for another day) — many of us Americans will be getting our déguisement on.  There’s also a very good chance I’ll be heading back to Paris for one of my closest friends whose birthday is today, but will be celebrated at another date.

It’s times like these where I really have to just take a pause and say to myself, “y’know what? You are so lucky to have this opportunity!  It is a complete and total privilege that you have the means to do a program like this!  Yes, it is going to be a very hard year with a very small monthly salary, while still needing to pay for necessities such as rent, groceries, and any stressful expenses that may come up, but at least you have enough to get by.”  And as long as I got what I need to get by, I can keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

